That was what I did this morning…  These three things stuck out to me.  Take them as you will…

Three Dollars Worth of God

I would like to buy $3 worth of God, please.
Not enough to explode my soul or disturb my sleep,
but just enough to equal a cup of warm milk
or a snooze in the sunshine.
I don’t want enough of God to make me love a black man
or pick beets with a migrant.
I want ecstasy, not transformation.
I want warmth of the womb, not a new birth.
I want a pound of the Eternal in a paper sack.
I would like to buy $3 worth of God, please.

— Wilbur Rees

Do I only want $3 worth of God or do I want Him all?

 

Act of the will written by: J. Sidlow Baxter;

As never before my will and I stood face to face. I asked my will the
Straight question, “Will, are you ready for an hour of prayer? “Will
Answered, “Here I am, and I am quite ready, if you are.” So will and
I linked arms and turned to go for our time of prayer. At once all the
Emotions began pulling the other way protesting, “We’re not coming.”
I saw will stagger just a bit , so I asked, “Can you stick it out, Will?”
And will replied, “Yes if you can.” So will went, and we got down to
Prayer…. It was a struggle all the way through. At one point… of those
Traitorous emotions had snared my imagination and had ran of to the
Golf course; and it was all I could do tp drag the wicked rascal back….

At the end of that hour, if you had asked me, “ Have you had a
‘good time’?” I would have to reply , “No, at times it has seemed
As though the heavens were brass, and God too distant to hear, and
The Lord Jesus strangely aloof, prayer accomplishing nothing.”

Yet something was happening. For one thing, Will and I really
Taught the emotions that we were completely independent of them.
Also, one morning, about two weeks ago after the contest began, just
When will and I were going for another of prayer, “Come on, you guys,
It’s no use wasting any more time resisting: they’ll go just the same.
Then another couple weeks later, what do you think happened?
During one of our prayer times, when Will and I were no more thinking
Of emotions than the man in the moon, one of those most vigorous
emotions unexpectedly sprang up and shouted, “Hallelujah!” at which
All the other emotions exclaimed “Amen!” And for the first time the
Whole of my being-intellect, will, and emotions-was united in one
Coordinated prayer-operation. All at once, God was real, heaven was
Open, the Lord Jesus was luminously present, the Holy Spirit was indeed
Moving through my longings, and prayer was surprisingly vital.
Moreover, in that instant there came a sudden realization that heave had
Been watching and listening all the way through those days of struggle
Against chilling moods and mutinous emotions; also that I had been
Undergoing necessary tutoring by my heavenly “Teacher.”

From Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World

Do I have the will to use my will over my emotions?

Is He knocking?  Will I answer the door?

Deep, huh?  There was a lot more during my sitting, reading, and praying time that I thought about, but I will tell you more about that later.

