“Revelation” by Third Day

My life has led me down the road that’s so uncertain
Now I am left alone and I am broken
Trying to find my way
Trying to find the faith that’s gone

This time I know that you are holding all the answers
I’m tired of losing hope and taking chances
On roads that never seem
To be the ones that bring me home

Give me a revelation
Show me what to do
‘Cause I’ve been trying to find my way
I haven’t got a clue
Tell me should I stay here
Or do I need to move
Give me a revelation
I’ve got nothing without you
I’ve got nothing without you

My life has led me down this path that’s ever winding
Through every twist and turn, I’m always finding
That I am lost again
Tell me when this road will ever end

I don’t know where I can turn
Tell me, when will I learn
Won’t you show me where I need to go
Let me follow your lead
I know that it’s the only way that I can get back home

I love my church. I still call it my church because, as far as I am aware, once you are a member of a Baptist church you remain a member of that church until you “transfer your letter” to another church. (Regardless of whether you name shows up in the birthday list on the web site or not… Happy birthday, thing 2!) I love the vestibule. I love the sanctuary. I love sitting in pews. I love singing hymns out of hymnals. I love the choir loft full of people in robes. I love the baptismal where two of the three things were baptised. I love the babies in the nursery and rocking them to sleep while catching up with the other ladies working in there. I love the preschool and thank God for taking care of all three of the things while they were students there. I love the prayer garden. I love the Sunday school classes and the teachers that devote their time to teaching the word of God. I love Upward basketball on Saturday mornings and Awana on Wednesday nights. I love the children that crawl all over their teachers just wanting to feel the love of Jesus against their skin. I love the people who love me as a sister in Christ. I love the ones who made the decision that would serve as the catalyst to making my decision to leave. I love the ones that have stood up against the decision. I love the ones who agreed with the decision. I love the ones that didn’t agree with it but didn’t stand up to it.

See, our leaving was a long time coming. It wasn’t a sudden reaction to some trivial decision based on some trivial event. I had been restless for a while. I had felt the nudge of God to leave the nest… I just wanted to know where I was going to fall if my wings didn’t help me take flight. I wanted to be led directly where my new nest would be. So I prayed the lyrics you see above and He made his voice clear. He made the nest uncomfortable enough that I had to jump out… And, much to my surprise, on shaky wings I FLEW! It hurt…. Man, did it hurt and sometimes I am still bitter, but thank you, JESUS, for allowing the catalyst and holding me up in flight!

Thank you to the ones who read this and know some or all that happened for being angry for me. I love love love you for it, but it is not necessary. Take that anger and let God polish it into hope and love like he did the shards of glass in my life! God knows what he is doing and all really does work together for good for those who love Him and are called to his purpose. I covet your prayers, but I want you to know that I am on the most amazing journey. I need prayers that my ears stay open to hear what I am supposed to do and where I am supposed to go. I pray the same for you. I am giddy waiting every day to know what God will do in my life. I am free knowing him more intimately than I ever have and am completely done with guilt and shame for any short comings I might have. I am changed! That is my prayer for you! God is there for anyone who draws near to him. His love is infinite. He can take you on an amazing journey too if you just ask… Ask and follow! Pray for a Revelation…. then hold on tight.

For the record, I am by no ways or means telling you to leave your home church. I am saying that God has a journey for you where ever you are. Sometimes I wish I could have taken it where I was, but that was all part of His plan. I hope that you are fortunate enough to go on with Him on yours!

