I am an elbow flapper at most. Until recently we had been visiting a church where the majority were in the “Expert” category. My husband is not even an elbow flapper… I felt very self conscious with my arms to the sides or folded across my chest… like people must be thinking that I was too closed off to feel the holy spirit. When I realized this I sat down…. I sang the music and worshipped in my own way. That is my business and I dont have to fit in a mold. Several days later I was listening to hymns on Pandora jamming out and dancing around my kitchen. I realized that God expects me to worship how he created me to worship. What a freeing feeling! I dont see me doing anything beyond my elbow flapping during a worship service in a church, but that doesnt mean I am not worshipping just the same. Praise Jesus who sees what our heart looks like when we worship rather than our outward movements!

Be sure to read the original blog by Chief of the Least by clicking on the above link.  You are sure to get a chuckle from the video he has posted as well!

Chief of the least

I’ve seen this snazzy little hilarious diagram floatin’ around the internetz this past week. For context: I grew up in a traditional Baptist church, currently attend a charismatic Methodist church body, and I follow the ministries of many Reformed Presbyterian guys. For reasons I may explain in another post, I loosely consider myself a “charismatic with a seat-belt.” I have seen, or can empathize with, all the “worship signals” in this model. I got a chuckle out of the Baptist warning at the bottom.

These signals are all courtesy of the brilliant comedic mind of Tim Hawkins. Here is my favorite skit of his. It’s a classic in my book:

Other body signals I have witnessed in my respective worship experiences: The Gaither family toe tap (has been known to cause turf toe in Southern Baptists). The reverse Running Man Pentecostal jig (has been known to be 2 Legit 2…

View original post 121 more words

