Long ago in another life I was into a very large multilevel marketing business.  Although I did not see any monetary success in the business I did learn more than I would ever imagine.  I read more non-fiction than I ever had before or since.  I may not have been a success in “the business of selling soap” as my husband likes to call it, but I was most definitely a success in being taught by some of the best motivational speakers of my time and before.  During my time in that business, Napoleon Hill taught me a very important thing in life…  “A goal is a dream with a deadline.”  (Highly recommend you reading Think and Grow Rich.  Great book.)

Since beginning to distance run, I have learned to take my goals much more seriously.  Since I quit working outside of the home many years ago, my goals have been somewhat intangible.  How does one really evaluate if you are a good mom?  A good wife?  A good housekeeper…  um….  no comment.  Running reminded me that making goals is important.  I have been successful in satisfying the goal of running a half marathon…  I created/chose a plan and followed through with it.  I completed my first half marathon in December of last year.  I did it in 2:23 and the feeling of accomplishment after working so hard for months to be able to do that was amazing.  Possibly up there with graduating from college, getting married, and even, yes, giving birth to my three children.  It is hard work to train for a half marathon.  It is a huge accomplishment to get to the starting line…  getting to the finish line easy in comparison.  I set my sites on another half marathon after that.  I chose the plan.  I worked the plan.  Four months later I ran another half marathon and shaved eight minutes off my time.  My goal of 2:15 was met.

I am a coach for a running club of forth through eighth graders at my children’s’ school.  Since goals are important to adult runners, we want the young runners to create goals for themselves as well.  We tell them that there goals need to stretch them.  If they have never run a 5k then “I will run a 5k at the end of this program” is a wonderful stretch goal.  If they have run a 5k before many of them will stretch themselves to run and finish with a faster time.  Some of them make it more of a stretch…

ice cream truck

DUH… WHY didn’t I think of this for my personal goals list?  I am SO with this kid.  Who doesn’t want to be able to run that fast???

Others have practical goals…

zombie

And I am with this kid.  We have very similar goals.  I too want to survive the zombie apocalypse if it happens.

Some are more into making people feel better…

club for cancer

And some will be working on their goals long after they have left running club and gone on to other endeavors…

good fathe

But, I can tell you this.  The one goal that I think that all of them that take a moment to make a goal are going to accomplish and it is this one…

be awesome

GO!  Be awesome.  Put a check in that box.

