All kinds of ideas about this year starting off and going well….  Thing 2 is all into cooking – which you guys may already know.  It is very hard for me to give up the reins in the kitchen and let him do his thing more than every once in a while.  It has nothing to do with what he cooks or if he is capable of putting together a meal or if he is going to burn the house down.  It has everything to do with the mess I have to clean up after.  See, I don’t have to clean up after #1 goes to basketball practice or plays on his computer with his friends creating spaceships that he is trying to land on Mars.  I don’t have to clean up after #3 spends the afternoon ninja-ing or hours typing up his future novel on the computer.  Oh, but the passion of #2… cooking…  what a mess he makes. 

Yesterday he and I went to the grocery store.  I went to buy all the staples in case his new proclamation that he would be cooking at least one meal a week fell short and he went on his way to chose dinner for last night.  He was focused.  He knew he was making chicken thighs.  He had wanted me to give him a “mystery box”… foods he had to cook from…  I told him his mystery box was the fridge, freezer, and pantry…  get to it.  He went through the store methodically and chose everything he needed. He even checked prices.  He came home and knew when to start dinner to have it ready when the other two and I made it back in from the evening of basketball and karate.  He made an amazing dish of chicken thighs with wonderful sauce and corn on the cob with another tasty citrus sauce.  (We were missing a green veggie…  and technically I had decided I was not doing grains anymore, but how do you say no to your twelve year old???)

So, I told him after dinner he could henceforth be in charge of dinners.  He jumped at it…  we will see how it goes. It may lose its appeal after a week or so, but the kid has dreams and I guess I can spend the next 5 years cleaning up after him until he goes on to greatness as a master chef.  After all, that probably is what a mother should do.

