Tags

I grew up eating Manhattan Clam Chowder.  My mother makes it best, but has passed her recipe on to us.  I still can’t wrap my head around that cream based New England Clam Chowder.  Not that I won’t eat it.  It just isn’t my favorite.

Turns out that Manhattan clam chowder fits quite nicely into my Whole 30 program and happens to be something that Thing 3 likes to make. There is no written recipe so I will tell you how we made it last night.  You can modify it for your own tastes.

  • 2 medium onions chopped
  • 2 large russet potatoes (They were in the pantry because earlier in the week Thing 2 was on a potato fast…  he was only going to eat potatoes for a week.  That was  short lived challenge.)
  • 2 handfuls of baby carrots chopped
  • 1 Tbsp of coconut oil
  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 bottle of clam juice
  • 2 cans of whole clams (usually I would make it with minced clams and whole clams, but minced clams for some reason have sugar in them.  Why?)
  • 1 bottle of hot and spicy V8 juice (usually we use Clamato…  again, it has sugar in it.  Who knew??  I actually like the V8,  we probably will keep that instead of going back to Clamato.  If you are hard core Whole 30 and don’t want to use V8 juice because it is overly processed, you could use tomato sauce and some seafood stock, I suppose.)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Melt the coconut oil in a pot and saute the onions and carrots until the onions are translucent.  You may want to cook them a little longer than that depending on your time to cook the soup.  The carrots seem to take the longest to cook and I like mine mushy.  Once you have done that, add the tomatoes, clam juice, and V8 juice and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat and simmer for an hour.  After simmering for an hour or when your carrots and potatoes are as tender as you want them, add the clams with their juice and cook for 15-10 minutes.

And there you go, Manhattan Clam Chowder the way my mother makes it…  kinda.

